Froshmore State Champions

On Saturday, March 4, the Wilburton Froshmore Academic Team earned the OAAC Division II State Championship title.  The team is composed of freshmen James McCabe, Andrew Hawthorne, Stage Watkins, LaShan Jackson, Morgan Anderson, Harsha Bastola, and sophomore Rashell Scott.  The team is coached by Gordon Bockus.  This is the first froshmore state championship for the academic team.

The competition was held at Redland’s Community College in El Reno, Oklahoma and was hosted by the Oklahoma Association for Academic Competitions.  The team played a total of eight games.  In round one, the team lost to Chelsea by 30 points.  In round two, they were victorious over Caney Valley by 25 points.  The team had a bye for round three.  In round four, they easily defeated Stigler with a score of 225 to 30.  In round five, they defeated Silo with a score of 145 to 80.  In round 6, they outscored Prague by 100 points.  In round seven, they defeated Dickson with a score of 155 to 40.  In round eight, they defeated Dewey with a score of 175 to 105.  In the ninth and final round, they defeated Crossing Christian with a score of 240 to 60.  With only one loss and total number of points, they were able to clinch the championship.  The team’s high scorers for the day were freshman James McCabe with 410 points, freshman Andrew Hawthorne with 335 points, and freshman Stage Watkins with 105 points.

The froshmore championship tops off the winningest season ever for the Wilburton Academic Team.  Retiring Coach Gordon Bockus is extremely proud of his team’s accomplishments and all the effort his team members have put forth throughout the 2016-17 season.  The academic team members and coaches appreciate the support and recognition provided by the community.