State Tournament of Champions

The following students placed in the High School Tournament of Champions Curriculum contest this weekend.

Colt Petty - State Champion - German I
Colt Petty - State Champion - Calculus
James McCabe - State Champion - Geometry
Sam Goddard - 4th Place - Calculus
Andrew Hawthorne - 7th Place - Biology I
Gilles Goddard - 5th Place - Trigonometry
Ambrosia Wilkett - 5th Place - Business
Christian Bailey - 10th Place - Algebra I

Congratulations to all of the students who participated in the High School Tournament of Champions!

Froshmore State Champions

On Saturday, March 4, the Wilburton Froshmore Academic Team earned the OAAC Division II State Championship title.  The team is composed of freshmen James McCabe, Andrew Hawthorne, Stage Watkins, LaShan Jackson, Morgan Anderson, Harsha Bastola, and sophomore Rashell Scott.  The team is coached by Gordon Bockus.  This is the first froshmore state championship for the academic team.

The competition was held at Redland’s Community College in El Reno, Oklahoma and was hosted by the Oklahoma Association for Academic Competitions.  The team played a total of eight games.  In round one, the team lost to Chelsea by 30 points.  In round two, they were victorious over Caney Valley by 25 points.  The team had a bye for round three.  In round four, they easily defeated Stigler with a score of 225 to 30.  In round five, they defeated Silo with a score of 145 to 80.  In round 6, they outscored Prague by 100 points.  In round seven, they defeated Dickson with a score of 155 to 40.  In round eight, they defeated Dewey with a score of 175 to 105.  In the ninth and final round, they defeated Crossing Christian with a score of 240 to 60.  With only one loss and total number of points, they were able to clinch the championship.  The team’s high scorers for the day were freshman James McCabe with 410 points, freshman Andrew Hawthorne with 335 points, and freshman Stage Watkins with 105 points.

The froshmore championship tops off the winningest season ever for the Wilburton Academic Team.  Retiring Coach Gordon Bockus is extremely proud of his team’s accomplishments and all the effort his team members have put forth throughout the 2016-17 season.  The academic team members and coaches appreciate the support and recognition provided by the community.

WHS Students Place in Murray Scholastic Contest

The following students placed in the March 1st Murray Scholastic Contest:

Colt Petty - 2nd in Physics
Gavin Sockey - 2nd in Geometry
Sam Goddard - 1st in Calculus
Andrew Hawthorne - 1st in General Science
Triston Boling - 3rd in Music
James McCabe - 2nd in Oklahoma History
Giles Goddard - 3rd in Trigonometry
Madajah Roberts - 3rd in Business Math
Devon Cox - 3rd in World History

These students now qualify for the Tournament of Champions

WHS Academic Team Class 3A Champions

The Wilburton High School Academic Team earned the title of Class 3A State Champions on Saturday, February 4, at Redlands Community College in El Reno, Oklahoma.  This is the Academic Team’s first state title.  They had previously been state runner-up in 2012 and 2004.  This is an amazing accomplishment for the team, the coaches Gordon Bockus and Lisa Baker, and the administration. 

The Wilburton team went into Saturday’s tournament ranked the top team in the 3A division.  They were Regional Champions and Area Champions.  At the area tournament, they averaged 256 points a game.  They played Adair in round 1 and defeated them 220 to 190.  In the second round, they played Crossings Christian who was ranked second overall.  They defeated them 260 to 100.  They met rival Warner, whom they had defeated at Area, in the third round.  However, this game did not go in Wilburton’s favor, and they lost by 40 points with a score of 150 to 190.  After a lunch break and an off round, Wilburton played Preston and defeated them 270 to 160.  In round 6, Wilburton faced Warner again.  This time they finished ahead with a score of 230 to 80.  This forced the teams into a seventh round for the championship.  Wilburton defeated Warner 250 to 140.  With an average of 236 points a game, Wilburton earned the state trophy.

Captain and senior Roy Phipps led the team to this victory.  This was his second trip as captain to the state tournament.  He scored 270 points overall for an average of 45 points a game.  Freshman James McCabe was high scorer with a total of 280 points, an average of 47 points a game. Freshman Andrew Hawthorne was third high scorer with 160 total points.   Seniors Colt Petty, Gloria Evans, and Cody Johnston also helped the team score throughout the day.  Senior Joe Dunagan assisted the team by serving as the required scorekeeper/timekeeper.  Other team members in attendance included junior Gilles Goddard, freshmen Stage Watkins, Gavin Sockey, LaShan Jackson, and Morgan Anderson.  Coach Baker and Coach Bockus are extremely proud of all these students.

The victory is especially sweet for Coach Gordon Bockus.  He helped begin the Academic Bowl Competition over thirty years ago.  He has coached the high school team and been active with the OSSAA and Oklahoma Academic Coaches Association for three decades.  He has served in numerous offices and capacities over his tenure.  He was previously honored as Coach of the Year.  Coach Bockus will be retiring at the end of this school year, so he is thrilled to go out with this kind of win.  It was an emotional experience.

A special thanks goes out to the Wilburton Lions’ Club and Cindy Dye of Community State Bank for helping with hotel cost.  Also thanks to Henry Bockus and Bruce Bockus (Coach Bockus’ brothers) for Friday night’s meal and to Richard and Becky Grau (Coach Baker’s parents) for helping with Saturday’s dinner.  The team appreciates all the support.      

WHS Powerlifting

On January 20, the WHS Powerlifting team traveled to Hilldale for the Hilldale Powerlifting Invitational.  The Diggers earned runner-up out of 26 schools.  Individual receiving medals were Devin Evans, 1st in heavyweight.  Cade Ezekiel 1st in 168 class.  Jose Gonzalez 1st in 132 class.  Tyler Crabtree 2nd in 123 class.  Sam Goddard 2nd in 168 class.  Dillan Browne 3rd in 154 class.  Travis Moody 3rd in 198 class.  Ian Mooers, Chance Swaffard, Hayden Bills all finished high enough in their class to receive points for the team.  Great team win!

WMS Academic Team moves on to Area!


Wilburton middle school academic team qualifies for area!!!!

The Wilburton Middle School academic team is off to a good start again this year. We are starting out with a very young team this year with only one returning player.  The whole team from last year, except Jackson McCabe, moved up to the high school level.

They competed in districts at Heavener on Nov. 16th and came home with 2nd place plaque.  They traveled to Valliant on Dec. 9th to compete in regionals.  The matches were very close and Wilburton finished in a three-way tie for 2nd place with Idabel and Valliant.  All three teams had the same win-loss record of 5-3 and were only separated by one question for final points.  The young team fought back in the final round after being down by 40 points to win the game.

The team has qualified to compete in the area playoffs in February. 

Team members consist of Caleb Roberts, Dakota Downum, Haylee Baker, Chelsea Holloway, Morgan Francis, Jackson McCabe, Anastasia Crane, Madison Posey, and Logan Pelt.  The team is coached by Ms. Mary Kendrick.